Berenice and Arthur Page Medal

The Astronomical Society of Australia awards the Berenice and Arthur Page Medal for excellence in amateur astronomy in Australia and its territories, judged on the basis of scientific contributions which have served to advance astronomy. The ASA's presentation of the Page Medal at the NACAA dinner has become a significant event in the convention's programme. NACAA thanks the ASA for their continuing support of excellence in amateur astronomy.

The winners of the Medal to date are:

2022 - Awarded jointly to:

  Mr Trevor Barry for his observations of Saturn and other planets, and

  The Backyard Observatory Supernova Search (BOSS) team for detecting supernovae.

2020 - Mr Thiam-Guan ‘TG’ Tan

For his outstanding Exoplanet Survey Telescope Observations.

2018 - Dr David Moriarty

For work on eclipsing binary stars and its application to models of stellar evolution.

2016 - Dr Roy Axelsen

For high-precision photometric observations and the Fourier analysis of Delta Scuti variables.

2014 - Mr Tim Napier-Munn

For work on binary stars systems and for demonstrating a deep understanding of observational techniques and processes that will progress the field.

2012 - Mr Anthony Wesley

High quality observations of the Jovian and Saturnian atmospheres and the discovery of an impact cloud and atmospheric flash on Jupiter.

2010 - Mr David Gault

For significant observations of Pluto occultations.

2008 - Mr John Broughton

For his systematic survey for southern declination Near Earth Objects, including numerous occultation timings.

2006 - Dr Tom Richards

For his broad ranging CCD photometry lightcurve observations particularly of minor planets, variable stars and exoplanet searches.

2004 - Mr Colin Bembrick

For his significant contribution to astronomy from photometric observations of minor planets.

2002 - The Reynolds Amateur Photometry Team

For work in association with professional astronomers to provide data on objects such as supernovae, blazars and gamma ray bursts, using the Reynolds 30" telescope at Mount Stromlo Observatory.

2000 - Mr Andrew Pearce

For his high quality visual observations of comets, variable stars and novae.

1998 - Mr Gordon Garradd

For significant contributions in the observation of asteroids, comets, novae and supernovae.

1996 - Mr Peter Williams

For his extensive on-going visual observations of variable stars, especially the R Coronae Borealis variables.

1994 - Mr Paul Camilleri

For discoveries of novae and Mira variables and the development of simple photographic techniques for nova searches.

1992 - Dr Mal Wilkinson

For the design and construction of a radio-telescope and subsequent observations of the Io-Jupiter system and for his development of a model for the emissions.

1990 - Dr Barry Adcock

For telescope design work and planetary observations.

1988 - Mr Robert McNaught

For photographic nova and supernova observations and discoveries.

1986 - Reverend Robert Evans

For visual discoveries of supernovae.

1983 - Mr Byron Soulsby

For work on the oblateness of the umbral shadow.

1981 - Mr Bill Bradfield

For the discovery, up to that time, of 11 comets.

1975 - Mr David Herald

For observations of Baily Beads in the solar eclipse of 20 June 1974.

1973 - Mr S.J. (Sid) Elwin

For photometric observations of the occultation of Beta Scorpii by Jupiter.

Top: First Berenice Page Medal Winner - Caption - Sydney Elwin (right) being awarded the Page Medal by Olin Eggen - Arthur Page (left) looking on. ANU Campus May 1973.

Bottom: Arthur and Berenice Page at their Chermside facility circa 1968.